By Heather Peckett

The CLW trophy is presented annually to a member in good standing of District 1 of the ACBL who has demonstrated outstanding ethical behaviour and/or excellence in tournament or disciplinary administration.

The Selection Committee is pleased to announce M. George Retek as the 2020 recipient of this award, joining Sylvain Descôteaux, Stan Tench, Karl Hicks, Gus Duchesne and Jean Claude Boudreault.

George Retek is very proud to say he has started his bridge administration activities in Montreal and in the 1970s he has acted as Treasurer and Tournament Chair for many years. He served on the ACBL Board of Directors for 33 years and was an ex-officio member of the Canadian Bridge Federation Board and in 2015, to acknowledge his involvement,  he became the first recipient of the CBF “Life Time Achievement Award”. 

He became ACBL President in 2002 and served as ACBL Treasurer and Chairman of various Committees. He has been on The World Bridge Federation Board for 24 years and during that period acted as Treasurer and Vice- President for 12 years,  Honorary Secretary for 2 years. and  Chairman Emeritus of the Finance Committee since 2012. In 2002, he was elected to the Committee of Honour (membership limited to 13 living persons), the highest honour in the bridge community.

George was instrumental is securing the 1985 Spring North American Bridge Championships (NABC), the 2002 World Bridge Championships which were both held in Montreal and the NABC 2020 for which he had agreed to be the Treasurer of the organizing committee.  Unfortunately, this championships had to be cancelled for reasons we are all aware of.

In 2013, The Board of District One named George District Director Emeritus with full voting privileges on the District Board and currently he is still active as the District recorder.

Congratulations George! You exemplify the ethical behaviour in bridge administration demonstrated by the three Directors in whose honour this trophy is given.